Home » World »

Profile: ANC’s top six leaders

Souce:Xinhua Publish By Updated 19/12/2012 7:58 am in World / no comments


BLOEMFONTEIN, South Africa, Dec. 18 — Six top leaders of the ruling African National Congress (ANC) were elected on Tuesday in the party’s 53rd Elective Conference in Bloemfontein:

– ANC President: Jacob Zuma

Zuma, also the state president, was re-elected as ANC president, receiving 2,983 votes against his deputy Kgalema Motlanthe’s 991 votes.

Zuma is the ANC’s 12th president and the third to become the president of South Africa. He took charge of the country in 2009 after Thabo Mbeki was ousted by the party national executive committee in 2008.

– ANC Deputy President: Cyril Ramaphosa

Ramaphosa received 3,018 votes, defeating Mathews Phosa (470 votes) and Tokyo Sexwale (463 votes).

Ramaphosa, born on Nov. 17, 1952, is a lawyer, businessman, former anti-apartheid activist and trade union leader. He rose to prominence in the National Union of Mineworkers, which he built to be the biggest and most powerful union in the country. In 1991 he became the secretary-general of the ANC and the party’s chief negotiator in the talks which ended apartheid.

– ANC National Chair: Baleka Mbete

Mbete was re-elected as the ANC’s chairperson. An activist in Black Consciousness-affiliated organizations, she fled to Swaziland in May 1976 to join the ANC. On her return to South Africa in 1990, she was elected secretary-general of the ANC Women’s League.

She served as deputy president of South Africa when Kgalema Motlanthe took over from former president Mbeki in 2008. She also served as the Speaker of the National Assembly between 2004 and 2008.

– ANC Secretary General: Gwede Mantashe

Mantashe retained his post of the ANC secretary general, winning 3,058 votes to defeat his only rival for the position, Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula, who received 901 votes.

Mantashe has been the secretary general of the ANC since the 52nd national conference in Polokwane in 2007. He was born in the Eastern Cape in 1955 and rose to political prominence in the trade union movement. He once served as the general secretary of the National Union of Mineworkers, the country’s largest trade union.

– ANC Deputy Secretary General: Jessie Duarte

The newly elected Deputy Secretary General of the ANC has served as ANC spokesperson and later as chief executive in the presidency. She has also served in various positions in government- as a special assistant to former president Nelson Mandela, an MEC (member of executive council) for Gauteng and an ambassador to Mozambique.

– National Treasurer: Zweli Mkhize

The newly elected treasurer general of the ANC has served as the Premier of KwaZulu-Natal since 2009. He is also the leader of Government Business in KwaZulu-Natal, Chairperson of the ANC in KwaZulu-Natal, Chairperson of the ANC’s National Education and Health sub-committee and Chancellor of the University of Kwazulu- Natal.

As a member of the ANC Provincial Executive Committee and its National Executive Committee, Mkhize played a key role in brokering peace and stability in KwaZulu-Natal during political upheaval in the early nineties.



Copyright © 2016 NZweek. All the material on this page has the protection of international copyright. All Rights Reserved.